Web Links/Useful Addresses

 

 

Barking & Dagenham Local History:   http://www.barking-dagenham.gov.uk/4-heritage/local-history/local-study-centre.html

 

Barking and District Historical Society: Email: http://www.barkinghistory.co.uk/ or  barkinghistorical@hotmail.com or 0208 597 7210

 

Barking Facebook Forum: includes over 150 photographs: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=6041542521

 

Barking Local Studies Centre:  localstudies@lbbd.gov.uk F.A.O. Linda Rhodes (Local Studies Librarian)

 

Barking Photographic: http://www.barking-photographic.co.uk/

 

Barking Web, London Borough Community Website: http://www.barkingweb.co.uk/

 

British History Online (Barking Abbey): http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=39832

 

British Newspaper Library, Colindale: http://www.bl.uk/reshelp/inrrooms/blnewspapers/newsrr.html

 

British Library, online catalogue: http://catalogue.bl.uk/F/?func=file&file_name=login-bl-list

 

Captain Bennett Investigated, by Michael Wand, 'An Account of a historical enquiry into Capt John Bennett 1670-1717: http://www.foxearth.org.uk/CaptainBennett.html

 

Chadwell Heath Historical Society: meetings 3rd Wednesday (not July and August),  7.30pm, Wangey Chapel, Wangey Road , Chadwell Heath: phone 020 8590 4659 or 8597 1225;   Email: chadwellheathhs@hotmail.com

 

Consultant Ecologist (Denis Vickers website): http://www.consultantecologist.co.uk/aboutdenisjvickers.htm

 

Dagenham Village website: http://www.dagenhamvillage.co.uk/

 

East of London Family History Society, includes Barking & Dagenham: http://www.eolfhs.org.uk/parish/dagenham.htm

 

Essex Record Office, search SEAX  their online catalogue: http://seax.essexcc.gov.uk/login.asp

 

Essex Recored Office, online guide: http://www.essexcc.gov.uk/vip8/ecc/ECCWebsite/dis/gui.jsp?channelOid=13813&guideOid=14788&oid=14788

 

Hainault Forest website: http://www.hainaultforest.co.uk/

 

History of Barking etc through Trade Directories 1839-1886, Census & pubs (also covers Havering & Newham): http://historyofstratford.co.uk/Barking/Barking-index.shtml

 

Life In Tudor Times, website: Barking Abbey: http://www.tudorplace.com.ar/Documents/barking_abbey.htm

 

London Wild Web (Wildlife): http://wildweb.london.gov.uk/wildweb/PublicSiteViewFull.do?pictureno=14&siteid=7603

 

Mike Starr's Virtual Travel Guide on Barking, http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/646fd/4d7c5/

National Archives: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

 

Public Record Office, Kew (see National Archives)

 

St Margarets Church, Barking: http://www.saintmargarets.org.uk/

 

Vicarage Field Shopping Centre, Barking: http://www.vicfield.co.uk/home/

 

Victoria County History, Volume V: Courtesy British History online: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=280

 

(A) Vision of Britain Through Time (Barking): http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/place_page.jsp?p_id=389

 

Wikipedia, the free Encyclopedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barking

 

 

 

Genealogical Resources

 

The Joiner Marriage Index: The source of Marriage Records prior to 1837, with twenty-one counties covered. Births and Marriages 1553 - 1854 Now online. Free surname search  http://www.joinermarriageindex.co.uk?affid=14

 

 

 

 

 All Rights Reserved Ian Vickers, 2010

 

barkingdagenhamlocalhistory.net  2010 Privacy Policy Terms of Use

Barking & Dagenham Local History

 

 

Where History is in the Past